World Championship Rosters Announced

Five members of the Markham Thunder have been named to rosters for the IIHF Women’s World Championship taking place in Espoo, Finland from April 4th-14th. Team USA is coming off of gold at the 4 Nations Cup, Olympics, and four-straight World Championships. Team Canada is looking to build off of their success at the Rivalry Series (won 2 games – 1), and take back top place on the podium.

Megan Bozek is looking to defend her and USA Hockey’s gold medal. The USA has bested Canada in the past four Championships, with Bozek on the blueline in 2013, 2016, and 2017. She was also a member of the 2012 silver medal team.

Jocelyne Larocque, Laura Fortino, Jamie Lee Rattray and Laura Stacey are looking to reclaim gold for Team Canada. Larocque is the veteran among the four Thunder players, have participated in six World Championships (2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017), closely followed by fellow defender Fortino who has five tournaments under her belt (2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017). The pair won gold with Canada at the 2012 Championship, and took home silver in the other contests.

Rattray returns to the World Championships for the first time since 2016. She was also on the 2015 squad, and took home silver on both occasions. Stacey will be participating in her second Championships, after securing silver in 2017.

Click here to see the tournament schedule and results. The Thunder will also have coverage of the Championship on all our social channels, @ThunderCWHL on all platforms.

Read about how these players performed during February’s Rivalry Series here.

Note: The Women’s World Championships are not held at the top level during Winter Olympic years.