Tag Archives: Janya Hefford Trophy

Rattray Named MVP by Peers

Photo: Jess Ritchotte

Jamie Lee Rattray had a career season in the CWHL and was recognized by the members of the CWHLPA as the Most Valuable Player, winning the Jayna Hefford Trophy presented by the NHLPA.

With a 16 game point streak in the second half of the regular season (18 games if including the playoffs), Rattray showed strong leadership while wearing an ‘A’ for the first time. Only held off the score sheet in four regular season games, Rattray was instrumental in keeping Markham in the race for the Championship. Notching her first season where she surpassed the 30 point mark, Rattray finished the regular season with 39 points (22G, 17A) and added two goals in the playoff series against les Canadiennes, the most pivotal being the shorthanded overtime winner to claim victory in game one.

NHLPA representative Connor Carrick of the Toronto Maple Leafs, and CWHLPA co-chair Liz Knox of the Markham Thunder present the Jayna Hefford Trophy PHOTO: Chris Tanouye/The CWHL

Rattray collected 11 multi-point games, including a four point performance (2G, 2A) that saw the Thunder claw back from being down 3-0 to take a point in overtime against Montreal. Every time she stepped onto the ice, Rattray was a threat. Partnered with the strong-willed Kristen Richards, and the hockey sense of Laura McIntosh, Rattray was able to be successful as the driving force for the Thunder offence.

When asked about what the honour of the Jayna Hefford Trophy meant to her at a recent Puck Talks Live event, Rattray shared that it was one of the most humbling experiences: “Think about the talent that’s in this league – you look around and every game is a grind,” said Rattray. “The work that the players put in to it, for them to vote me in as MVP… I still don’t believe it. To accept the award is very special as I’ve gotten to know Hefford very well, and as [she was] someone who I looked up to as a kid, it’s still surreal that that was me. I’m pretty humbled by it.”

Watch Rattray’s acceptance speech below: