Rattray, Howe Nominated for CWHL Awards

Photo credits to Jess Ritchotte

Jamie Lee Rattray has been nominated for CWHL MVP and Erica Howe has been nominated for Goaltender of the Year. This is the second nomination for Howe (first in 2016), and the first nomination for Rattray. Previously, both players received spots in the 2014-15 All-Rookie Team, along with teammate Laura Fortino. Rattray and Howe both grew up in the Ottawa area, and this season marks their 10th consecutive year as teammates (Lady Senators, Clarkson University, Brampton Thunder, Hockey Canada, Markham Thunder).

Rattray has hit multiple milestones this season, while wearing an ‘A’ for the first time with the Thunder. She passed 75 games in the CWHL in mid-November, recorded her first season over 30 points, and hit the 100 career point milestone. Rattray finished the season third in league scoring with 39 points (22G, 17A).

Howe started the season with back-to-back shutouts, and making it to overtime of the third game before conceding a goal. She then ended the regular season backstopping the Thunder to a 8-0 win against the Boston Blades, securing the final spot in the playoffs. Howe passed 50 games played in her CWHL career, and ended third amongst goaltenders with a 2.18 GAA. At the start of the season, the Thunder held an awareness game for the Brain Tumour Foundation in honour of Howe’s late father.  

The CWHL Awards will take place on Friday, March 23rd in Toronto, ON. Fans can purchase tickets by visiting thecwhl.com/clarksoncup.