TORONTO, ON – The Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) today announced the dates and locations for its 2017 CWHL All-Star Game and 2017 Clarkson Cup Final.

For the third consecutive season, Air Canada Centre and the Toronto Maple Leafs will play host to the CWHL All-Star Game on February 11, 2017. The game will once again see the best professional female hockey players from each of the CWHL’s five teams — Boston Blades, Brampton Thunder, Calgary Inferno, Les Canadiennes de Montreal and the Toronto Furies — come together to showcase their skills on Air Canada Centre ice.

The Maple Leafs, hosts of the 2014 and 2016 CWHL All-Star Games, continue their long-term commitment to the development of the women’s game by opening Air Canada Centre doors so fans can experience the very best the sport has to offer. In 2016, 7,000 fans watched as Team Black and Team White, led by fan-voted captains and Olympians Julie Chu and Natalie Spooner, battled for All-Star supremacy. Team Black skated away with a 5–1 victory, led by a two-goal performance from Montreal’s Marie-Philip Poulin.

The CWHL will also return to Ottawa in March 2017, when the CWHL’s best two teams put the regular season behind them and compete for the Clarkson Cup on NHL ice at Canadian Tire Centre. The Cup, presented to the CWHL by former Governor General Adrienne Clarkson, is awarded to the winner of the Canadian Women’s Hockey League Championship game each season. The 2016 Clarkson Cup, the first held in an NHL arena, saw more than 4,000 fans watch, as the Calgary Inferno defeated three-time Clarkson Cup champions and regular season champions Les Canadiennes de Montreal 8–3 in the championship game.

In addition to the Clarkson Cup Final, the CWHL will host its full Clarkson Cup Weekend in the Ottawa region. The weekend includes the CWHL Awards Gala (Friday March 3rd) and CWHL Community Day (Saturday March 4th), which will once again see the CWHL and its teams working in the Ottawa community to help the event leave a lasting legacy.

“The 2017 CWHL All-Star Game and Clarkson Cup represent the very pinnacle of hockey excellence for the CWHL, and show the very best of our league putting their unsurpassed skill, passion and commitment to the game on display,” CWHL Commissioner Brenda Andress said. “We’re thrilled to once again return to Air Canada Centre and Canadian Tire Centre for two exceptional and entertaining games of hockey, and we thank both the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Ottawa Senators for their continued support in hosting these great events.”

Funds from ticket sales for both games will go back to the CWHL to support the continued growth of the game of women’s professional hockey for the current and future generation of hockey heroines.

Tickets for the CWHL All-Star Game are available on Ticketmaster starting Monday, December 12, for $10 each or $5 per person when purchased in a group of 10 or more. Tickets for the Clarkson Cup Final will go on sale later this month.


2017 CWHL All-Star Game

1.30PM – Saturday February 11 2017

Air Canada Centre, Toronto, ON


2017 Clarkson Cup Final

4PM – Sunday March 5 2017

Canadian Tire Centre, Ottawa, ON


About the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL)
The CWHL is the most premier, professionally-run women’s hockey league in the world. It enables elite female hockey players to pursue their dreams of competing at the highest level possible, while enhancing the lives of others through exceptional athleticism, entertainment and motivation. The league is centrally funded, with all participating teams in the CWHL receiving equal access to financial support and given the same opportunities to succeed. The CWHL is a not-for-profit organization, with every dollar going towards building a league that is dedicated to raising the profile of women’s hockey, providing a place for the best female players in the world to compete and inspiring the next generation of female hockey heroines.

About MLSE
Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment (MLSE), one of the world’s premier sports and entertainment companies, owns the Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL), Toronto Raptors (NBA), Toronto FC, Toronto Marlies (AHL), Raptors 905 (NBA D-League), and TFC II (USL).  It also owns Air Canada Centre, Maple Leaf Square, three digital channels — Leafs TV, NBA TV Canada and GOLTV Canada — and has a partnership with Live Nation, the biggest concert promoter in the world. MLSE has also invested in and operates five of Toronto’s sports facilities — Ricoh Coliseum, BMO Field, Kia Training Grounds at Downsview Park, home of Toronto FC’s Academy and the First Team’s practice facility, the Raptors state of the art practice facility, the Biosteel Centre and the MasterCard Centre for Hockey Excellence, the practice facility for the Maple Leafs and Marlies.

About the Ottawa Senators
One of seven NHL franchises based in Canada, the Ottawa Senators returned to the league in 1992 following a 58-year absence. Ottawa won 11 Stanley Cups during its original reign from 1903 to 1934. The modern-day Senators have captured four titles in the Northeast Division and a Presidents’ Trophy in 2002-03. Since 1992, the Senators together with its foundation, alumni, partners and fans have now contributed more than $100 million to community initiatives in the National Capital Region. For more information, visit