Bach and Jackson Winners at CWHL Awards

Two members of the Markham Thunder took home trophies on March 22nd as Victoria Bach claimed Rookie of the Year, and Jim Jackson was awarded Coach of the Year.

Bach’s offensive power was felt by every team in the league. She lead all rookies and the Thunder in points, and finished the regular season fourth in league scoring. Her goal-scoring ability saw her tie for second in the league with 19 goals alongside veteran Brianne Jenner and behind Marie-Philip Poulin who took home the Angela James Bowl, MVP and Jayna Hefford Trophy. Bach averaged 1.23 points per game, and Thunder Nation is excited to see what her sophomore season will bring.

Taking the Thunder back to the playoffs in a higher slot, Jackson’s coaching pushed the team to play to every whistle. The Thunder scored at least once in every regular season game, only one of two teams to pull off the feat.

Laura Fortino was also nominated for Defender of the Year, but Montréal’s Erin Ambrose took the honour.